Reflecting on two years of being a techincal comucation and e-learning podcast.

My final blog post as part of TW6082 Learning and Collaborative Technologies was to recap on the year (or for me, two years) gone by since we started our masters.   Due to the word count of this assignment and other personal commitments, I could only cover the skills I gained and motivations I had throughout my studies within my post.


New skills I developed during my masters 
• My interview assignment helped me to improve my interpersonal and communication skills. I improved my interpersonal skills by communicating verbally with Jess Beeley about the topic of universal design for learning and her previous role as a learning technologist at the University of Limerick. I developed both verbal and non-verbal communication skills when interviewing Jess by learning when and where to speak and in my general interaction with her.

•  My Open Educational Resource and podcast assignments helped me to gain instructional design, recording and editing skills. I gained instructional design skills by creating instructional videos using various aspects of Microsoft Word and Adobe Acrobat. I gained recording and editing skills when I created the audio and video elements of both my podcast and tutorials. I used audacity, Vid.io, Microsoft video editor, Zoom, Panopto and the voice recorder on my laptop for these assignments.

Here is a video version of my podcast. I originally did it in audio format but had to make a video out of it which I then uploaded to Youtube in order to embed it here for free. Also, a flash warning for anyone who’s epileptic or has other sensory/visual issues.


My motivations:
• The small things count, such as when I went to Dublin for Rocky Horror and the Same Chance conference. It was great to have a break from my college work by spending time with friends. Many of these disability activism skills during will help me in the field of universal design for learning. Throughout this semester, I was able to have my friend Sophie over. Having someone to have meals with, walk to college and do work with   helped ease the busyness of each day

• I met one of my role models Chloe Hayden, which made my year. This encouraged me to keep being a disability advocate and to continue my work in the world of universal design for learning (UDL). Chloe personally encouraged me to be my true authentic autistic self, which is something will be working on in the future   

• It was great to gain skills from my assignments which I hope to use in the future. Hopefully that will include working in the field of universal design for learning. For more on this, check out my e-portfolio.  


• My interest and knowledge in UDL  I gained through my masters gained me the opportunity to do some professional UDL work. From talking to Jess Beeley and Thomas O’Shaughnessy, I participated in the UDL@UL project in December. Other participants included Thomas, Jess, one of my lecturers Yvonne Cleary and other students such as William Nolan, who also works with the disability service at the University of Limerick
I really enjoyed this assignment, even though it was a pain sometimes. It helped me post more to my blog, which is something I need to do but never have the time to do. I hope you enjoyed reading all my posts 😊!

References

thatswhtjustnsaid (2017) The Rocky Horror Picture Show GIF [GIF], available: web address: https://giphy.com/gifs/horror-rocky-the-picture-show-GqHbaev28Mvcs
[accessed  28 Feburary 2023].

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Caoimhe Creed

ePortfolio for Caoimhe Creed, Dublin

The Stagey Couple

A married couple from the North East sharing our love for theatre, TV and film!

Art of e-learning

Gabi Witthaus's website & blog

autismjungle

A blog on Autism, Anti-antivaccination and life by a South African Autist

Benyapoesy

I'm just a pocket poet.

Biscuit Breaks

Lifestyle, Reviews and more...

Actually Autistic Blogs List

A list of blogs by Actually Autistic bloggers

A Is For Aoife Not Autism

"Being a little weird is just a natural side-effect of being awesome" Sue Fitzmaurice

Opher's World

Follow my blog for books, poems, photos, music, art, education, views...

Mental Health @ Home

A safe place to talk openly about mental health & illness

Impact of Social Sciences

Acting as a voice for the voiceless

Tempered with Kindness

Words, like chocolate, are best ...

Unlock & Roll

Reviewing the Escape Rooms of London and Beyond

Charlatte's Sippable Stories

By Charlotte Mazurek

Autism and Expectations

De-Mystifying Autism

Alisha and Elana's Thesis Journey

Arab immigrant women faces barriers, such as limited access to education, in-accessible childcare, and unattainable work opportunities, that limit her full potential. This is our journey to co create with them for a better future they envision.

Dis(abled) Embodiment

Disability, Deafness, Ageing, Queerness, and Other Complicated Embodiments

Finding God

A journey to discovering God and deepening our relationship with Him

Matters to Sam

Inside the World of Sam

Who Am I To Stop It

A documentary film on isolation, art, and transformation after brain injury

Educational Enhancement

Supporting staff in effective and innovative approaches to using technology in teaching, learning and assessment

Nuggets From God's Word

Daily Devotions from The Word Of God... From the heart of Ed Algreen

Beauteaful Reads

Escape with a book and a cuppa

EduResearch Matters

A voice for Australian Educational Researchers

Fearless Living

by Linda Knight Inspirational Christian devotions, faith, hope and love

Musical Theatre Lives In Me

If all the world's a stage, put me in the front row

MonkeyMoonMachine

Teachings of a humble genius

Share Your Light

You are a miracle - Let it happen

Out in UL - Old

LGBTQ+ Society, University of Limerick

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started